Hull Now - More Forward Thinking

Concept Opinions

GREAT

Terri Roberts 30/07/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
Something needs ta be done ta save our heritage, our dads grandads gave ther lifes for job they loved... fishermen..

GREAT

Jennifer Gallagher 27/07/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
It would be wonderful to preserve some of the history of Hull's fishing industry

GREAT

Tony Field. 27/07/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
What a fantastic idea,of course this should have been done years ago,but it's never to late. you have to give credit to the lads who have kept this dream alive,because without their faith and dedication we would have nothing to remember the many men who lost their lives bringing food to our tables. These docks should never have been filled in , in the first place. In my opinion they(which ever council was representing this City) wanted to sweep anything regarding our fishing industry under the carpet,otherwise like Liverpool they would have had the foresight to keep our docks open and utilised them.water is a great attraction to all,as we all know. So yes let's hope our representatives in the council wake up and rectify their ignorance.like I say,this is only my opinion.

GREAT

Ted Doherty 27/07/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
And why the hell not do it,it can work out really well with a little effort and a lot of lottery money,how many ppl off Hessle Road like ballet,yet they got £200 million for that to happen tickets at £200 each,bet you couldn't get a bus load together from Hull to pay £200 each to see a ballet,but this project would suite us old ins OAPs all schools,ppl from far and wide would come to see it,so come on you Hull City Council help,tax man you took billions in taxes of Hessle road,brewery also took masses of money from Fishermen,so let's get this project going and as a x building trade man I offer my series's for free and I know a lot like me

GREAT

June Nicholls 27/07/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
This is the sort of plans the town need, no more shops they can't be filled most of the time. This will bring in tourists and will be a big boost for the people of Hull.

GREAT

Malcolm Mortimer 26/07/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
This is a brilliant idea and very much better than buying a navy warship or building a complex of maritime interest around a dry dock. Our history of Hull fishing should be brought home in St Andrews dock.

GREAT

Mandy Russell 26/07/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
This could happen , what a legacy to future generations from the men who made this city great

GREAT

Russ McLean 26/07/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
This would be wonderful for the City. Would be one of the best (if not the best) tourist attraction in the North of England. Surely anyone with any foresight at all would see what this site could become. Surely Hull City Councillors would not be stupid enough let this opportunity pass them by, by allowing Lord Line Building to be demolished. What a golden opportunity this would be for the city and it would certainly put Hull firmly back on the map to become one of the top tourist attractions in Europe. We owe this to the brave trawlermen who never returned home. Please don't let this opportunity go.

GREAT

Barrie Baxter 26/07/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
love it

GREAT

Moyra Hardy 26/07/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
Absolutely brilliant idea, our Fishing Heritage has been sidelined far too long. This idea must be implemented as soon as possible. I worked on the Dock many moons ago at Belfast Ropework Company. What a wonderful place and atmosphere there was about the place. Always busy.

GREAT

Shirley Larsen 26/07/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
Love this idea. Bring the dock back to life

GREAT

Keith Holderness 26/07/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
Such a pity this scheme could not have been completed in time for City of Culture. Nevertheless I do hope that it will be a reality in the future.

GREAT

Mel Ward 26/07/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
This would have been a heart warming and fitting tribute to all the brave souls that sailed out of Hull, some never to return. It encompasses what the industry was about, but sadly the buildings are in disrepair and the cost would be prohibitive for anyone to undertake such a project, but we can all dream.

GREAT

Christopher Coles 26/07/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
Would love to see a development like this on that site.

GREAT

Peter Lyons 22/07/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
Hope that this can happen

GREAT

Jacqueline Cansdale 02/05/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
I walked around this site over the weekend and was saddened by the waste of such great potential to develop and make use of what is a huge part of the city's heritage. I love the idea of it being developed into a maritime area of historical interest combined with commercial business. It is a shame it has been left this long. It would have been a real asset to the City of Culture.

GREAT

Patricia Lawler 29/04/2017
The Last Trip Concept
Thankyou for taking the time to remember our lost loved ones well done and Thankyou for me and my three children who lost my husband and their dad .........too many lost love ones and for what x Thankyou for such a lovely monument

GREAT

Patricia Lawler 26/04/2017
The Last Trip Concept
My husband was lost off the Thornella 2september 1962 he was ships cook I think Everyone who went to sea deserves their names and memorials for everyone to see Hull has always been forgotten but these memorials should be seen by all and will been seen by all these men had hard lives at sea bless them all my three children lost their dad and it happened to so many dads in so many families so well done all who make this possible so many can see and remember Thankyou

GREAT

Pat Lawler 26/04/2017
The Last Trip Concept
It's brilliant concept

GREAT

I Mick Waud 09/04/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
This should have been sorted years ago if thy had it probably would have cost less then as now there going to say it's not cost affected but hey ho let's see iwhats the time scale and Lord line building are thy going to agree with this thy blocked everything else ., hope I live long enough to see this 🙏🙏👍🙄

GREAT

Stephen Harrison 09/04/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
Should have been done years ago, and get the Arctic Corsair in here as well, where it belongs. I really hope this becomes reality.

GREAT

Angie Norrie 09/04/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
Wonderful idea keeping the fishing heritage alive.

OK

Ben 27/03/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
Should develop it with some focus on also creating a botanical garden like in Singapore with the man made 'Super Trees'. Everyone would pass it on coming into the city by road, rail or ship then (if they ever actually build that cruise terminal on Alexandra dock!). Would be good access to it too for visitors coming off Clive Sully - save the congestion in the city centre. The Singaporean botanical gardens attract five million visitors a year. Show that Hull is also looking forward then as well as back

GREAT

Mike Hepworth 17/01/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
This a great concept, our local history should never be forgotten and what a truly fabulous way of showing what Hull was once all about.Time moves on but our past should always be remembered.

OK

Andrew J Boulton 04/01/2017
Heritage Dock Concept
Pleased to see a proposal. However, other than the retention of the iconic Lord Line building - and of course the dock itself - the rest is possibly a bit "too modern". It would be better if it paid a little more recognition of the original key-side building architecture . . . including the small, numerous, fish merchants' "stands" (offices).

GREAT

Graham Hassall (Stokesy) Ex Hull Trawlerman 11/12/2016
The Last Trip Concept
Agreed with all, but let us not overlook the enormous wealth that these trawlermen, the fishing industry and the associated industries contributed to the wealth of the nation. It is long overdue.

GREAT

Mike Waudby 30/11/2016
The Last Trip Concept
After spending the last thirty years or so witnessing the demise of the industry and writing and documenting its decline I have only one word for the heritage memorial "brilliant" well done to all concerned the 6000 men and there families should be so proud , well done inter tech.

GREAT

Gordon Poskitt 30/11/2016
The Last Trip Concept
Long overdue, we can only hope that there are enough strong willed people with the ability left among us to see this project through. Keep the faith and never give up.

GREAT

Pamela Egan 28/11/2016
The Last Trip Concept
Hope to join looks very interesting

GREAT

William Coggle 10/11/2016
Heritage Dock Concept
This should have happened 20 years ago fantastic idea get this project going can you imagine the drive into Hull instead of seeing waste land

GREAT

Jason Addison 26/10/2016
Heritage Dock Concept
Fabtastic concept. Must be done!

GREAT

Geoff Hewitt 25/10/2016
Heritage Dock Concept
Brilliant idea preserving heritage and, importantly, helping to build a forward thinking and confident city.

GREAT

Jason 15/08/2016
The Last Trip Concept
This is Awesome news,be lots of happy people around aftear hearing this cool news,I myself carn't wait to see this in the making+it been open,from a lad who use to sit on docks and watch the fishermen go out to work when I was young lad

GREAT

Steve 18/07/2016
Ship to Shore Concept
We need something like this to remind young & old about our heritage.

GREAT

Christina Abbott 12/06/2016
Heritage Dock Concept
Super idea. may help me trace my great grandmother Dr Moss who worked in the docks helping poorer families. She was one of the women doctors who were barred from practising due to gender. She worked late 1800's through WW1. Any help appreciated. Tina Abbott granddaughter of Harold Moss, merchant seaman WW2 Atlantic convoys.

GOOD

David Horner FRPS DPAGB Churchill Fellow 20/05/2016
Heritage Dock Concept
As a photographer who used to photograph the area with the aid of a dock visitors pass it is sad to see the passing of the Fish Dock as I remember it in the late 1960's. Perhaps the new concept will help Hull to regain some of it's character.

GREAT

Jonna & John Lindley 19/03/2016
The Last Trip Concept
We have today visited this long overdue memorial to fishermen...it's a superb concept that will enable those of us who have lost family members to visit and remember. It is so much more than just a memorial, it's an inter active learning facility for adults and children and will ensure that the fishermen are not forgotten. This valuable project is worthy of everyone's support and will make a great addition to the infrastructure of the area. It also deserves the support of the council and others who care about local history and people.

GREAT

Andy Thiim 19/03/2016
The Last Trip Concept
A big thank you to Andrew Fenton for showing us round the memorial 'The Last Trip' earlier today. The sooner its sorted out into its final resting place down near Mr Chu's the better, then everyone can admire it. It's such a huge shame that Hull city council are not supporting him in his task. The memorial will be a great tribute to all fishermen. Well done to all involved in making this great memorial come to life.

GREAT

Claire Cruickshank 07/03/2016
Heritage Dock Concept
Hulk docks heritage should be preserved.

GREAT

AJ 04/03/2016
Heritage Dock Concept
What an opportunity to really make history come alive for many people native to hull such as myself the fishing industry was not in my living memory I would really love to see our city do something like this instead of leaving the site derelict. Agree wholeheartedly with previous comments. What can we do to ensure this becomes reality

GOOD

Anthony McCullagh 18/02/2016
The Last Trip Concept
Is this memorial the official memorial for the lost trawler men, and if so, what about the memorial that STAND and the Council are promoting. Also, what is happening with the new plaques at the Bullnose

GREAT

Terry & Carol Dance 08/02/2016
The Last Trip Concept
Thanks to Andrew Fenton my wife and I saw the Memorial to the "The Last Trip" The number of times I have listened to Seamen quoting that phrase and then returning for the next trip. Unfortunately as a lad I listened and read of the tragedies that came reality for some families, bless all the "lads" that never made it back.

GREAT

Mr S Cambers 06/02/2016
Heritage Dock Concept
Brilliant! come Hull go for It !!!

GREAT

Mike Holdstock 07/01/2016
Heritage Dock Concept
Wonderful concept, the very least our great fishing industry deserves.

GREAT

David A. Murden 07/01/2016
Heritage Dock Concept
As a Hull East lad I have been concerned for many years about Hull losing its many precious examples of a Heritage that if it was anywhere else in UK would have resources poured into it NOW. The film brought me to tears of both pride and anger that this site should be left derelict. My friend was lost on his first trawler voyage. I drove a lorry onto the Dock supplying "soft" drinks! I work now trying to open old trading Routes back into Hull and Humber. I still visit the Hull Shipping Office building in Takoradi, Ghana. I would do anything at all to help realize this wonderful concept.

GREAT

Elaine Matthews 04/01/2016
Heritage Dock Concept
I'm embarrassed to say I'v only seen part of this before and did share it on facebook at the time, I don't think there was an opportunity to give comments then .This is absolutely fantastic but makes me wonder how long do plans like this become reality? I know the biggest obstacle is money but what can any of us (without financial resources) do to help?

GREAT

Rob Bell 03/01/2016
Heritage Dock Concept
Today I walked around St Andrews "whatever-you-can-describe-it-as- these-days". What a mess... This concept is inspirational... It goes beyond remembrance and starts to do what has been done well elsewhere. I am minded of Bremerhaven. They have an Emigration Museum there. This is not just about the past. These days they advise on issues such as the Syrian refugee crisis... Other ports have built from their maritime heritage - not to build a better yesterday; more to shape a viable future... Is there anything that The History Troupe can do? Can we do a performance to raise money? Support in other ways? www.facebook.com/thehistorytroupe Many thanks for this site Regards, Rob Bell

GREAT

Jamie 01/01/2016
Heritage Dock Concept
Needs to happen

GREAT

Carole & Rod Ellis 26/12/2015
The Last Trip Concept
Really brilliant. Very well done to Andrew Fenton for all the work that as gone into the memorial. We were both moved, a fiiting tribute to the fishermen. Looking forward to it be erected at St Andrew's Quay. Carole & Rod Ellis

GREAT

Geoffrey Lonsdale 25/12/2015
The Last Trip Concept
Hi, I'm suggesting that you set up a payment scheme through Paypal. Paypal have no charge for charities when paying and the payment is funded by a bank account, debit card or PayPal balance, and no currency conversion is involved. If the Last Trip is a registered charity the charge for using a credit card is 1.4% + 20p. I'm sure your funds would increase by instant payments through Paypal, I hope this suggestion help your worthy cause. From an ex 'essle road lad geoffrey lonsdale.

GREAT

Lynda Denton 23/12/2015
The Last Trip Concept
Absolutely brilliant. This should be transferred to St Andrew's Quay as soon as possible. Well done to all involved.

GREAT

Dr. ALEC GILL MBE 23/12/2015
The Last Trip Concept
There is an old cliché: ACTIONS speak louder than WORDS. Andrew Fenton is a man of action. He gets the job done. Hull's trawling heritage and the Hessle Road Community are the benefactors of his and others' hard work. Well Done to Andrew and all those who have worked hard to bring into reality these concepts. Here's looking forward to 2016 and beyond for your ventures. Alec Gill

GREAT

Steven Keel 23/12/2015
Micro Wind Farm Concept
Andrew Fenton why can't you sell your product Electricity to the Homes on and around summergroves I am sure it would be cheaper an the National Grid?

GREAT

Steven Keel 23/12/2015
The Last Trip Concept
Many thanks to Andrew Fenton with this concept and for graspin the Bull by the hones well done!! I do think that St Andrews dock area should be used ? come Hull City Council get cracking ? We need Ships To visit etc ? for real thing . Waiting !!! Well Done Campbell,s W and V will be really pleased . Kind regards Steven Keel worked for fourty years in the fish processing industry in Hull. Glen rose fish subway st Hull.

GREAT

Tony Hopper 22/12/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
A wonderful idea

GREAT

John Sizer 18/12/2015
The Last Trip Concept
A really fitting tribute to the lost trawler men, set in an ideal location.

GREAT

Bob Medd 15/12/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
A wonderful idea from people with a can do attitude. I wish you all the success in the world.

GREAT

Alison E Bateman 11/12/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
It's about time that something was done to rejuvenate this area. I think this would be a fitting tribute to all the people who worked in, out and around this dock. It would provide a lasting legacy to the people of Hull and the East Riding of Yorkshire.

GREAT

Steve Wright 07/11/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
As a former pupil of Hull's Boulevard Nautical School I lodged in West Gove Gypsyville. I lived in admiration of Hull's trawler men. Great seamen who served their country in war and peace. A deserved tribute is long overdue, thanks for the memories.

GREAT

Ian Wolstencroft 17/09/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
I HOPE this becomes reality , its superb , The Last Trip / Memorial " Brilliant " The Heritage Dock well , This would become a massive Tourist Attraction , Will look Brilliant too , Lord Line Building restored to its former glory , Filled in dock as it used to be , Full of trawlers & ships , Recreate the 1960s Fish Dock with Artic Corsair !! Magic. want to be part of this , Good Luck .

GREAT

Steve Thurston 13/09/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
Thanks to the people that's making it happen ,I hope they incorporate the Arctic corsair in there project and make the lord line building in to a museum and hotel, ITS going to be a grate memorial for our fathers,

GREAT

Anthony Perrins 07/09/2015
The Last Trip Concept
fantastic be great when its all complete , its been a long trip getting here , thanks to all involved , be good to see the dock full and working . again fantastic ,

GREAT

Ronie Regan 04/09/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
its a shame the people of our city have had to wait all this time for a memorial to our lost fishermen husbands,fathers , brothers ,friends . At last our men will be remembered and honoured by this wonderful concept . i am proud to have been shipmates and friends with the gallant men that are no longer with us

GREAT

George W Brown 25/08/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
i would love to see a transformation like this.This our dream i would love to think it will be like this But i am afraid this manor property fella only see £in his sights Lets all pray for a miricle they do happen you know.tara.george

GOOD

George Anderson 23/08/2015
The Last Trip Concept
Hi I've asked to be allowed on the site and as of today I haven't received confirmation in the way of an email//Am I being told I can't enter the site? Thanks George Anderson Liverpool

GREAT

Andy Harrison 19/08/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
Brilliant idea get the viola there as well would make a good history centre of hull fishing industry.it would smarten up the entrance of hull from Clive Sullivan way.

GREAT

Malcolm Smith 11/08/2015
The Last Trip Concept
Coming from a family with strong Trawler traditions and being an ex wireless operator, Redifon,Newingtons,Marss,BUT,etc I think it time don't you.

GREAT

Ken Shakesby 08/08/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
It really is about time people stopped talking and got our fishing industry's priorities right.All our fathers and their father's before them deserve something to tell the other industries what Hull was all about.Ex Trawler Skipper

GREAT

Jean Shakesby 08/08/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
My dear dad was lost at sea Stan hawker in 1963 and it would be a wonderful tribute to him and every other fishermen in hull

GREAT

Gary Delves 08/08/2015
The Last Trip Concept
An ex fisherman myself I cannot believe what the Bullnose lads have done in such a short time . Well done Jerry , Ray and all others involved in this fantastic memorial .

GREAT

Ray Hawker 08/08/2015
Ship to Shore Concept
As an ex-Trawler Skipper myself, I would prefer this concept as it is less abstact than the others, and therefore more regognisable to the general public as a fishing memorial, however, there is one small problem with one of the proposed 'positions' of this piece, if (as in one of the illustrations) it is situated actually in the river, then it would need navigation lights, because even if it is close to shore, as long as there is water between it and the dry land, it constitutes being a 'vessel', and would therefore have to adhere to maritime regulations., I'm not being 'picky' but the simple answer is to have it fixed to the sloping shorline as in the second illustration.

GREAT

Win Wray 07/08/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
what a brilliant tribute to all of Hull`s Fishermen we are right behind your idea

GOOD

Ted Doherty 03/08/2015
The Last Trip Concept
now we are talking well done the committee of Hulbullnose heritage group and all its members,June the 6th was good for Hull but this is something else,this country of ours needs educating just how much they gave to get fish into the uk. To many brave souls gave all they could give to get fish home,seen my father land and back to sea in 36 hrs, we lost over 6000 men fishing and this at last is something to remember those brave souls by they must never be forgotten

GREAT

Mick Wedgner 18/07/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
Any concept that recognizes St Andrews Dock as we knew/know it. is would be a tribute in memory of our lost 6000 men,and due respect to their families. also the dedication to us remaining fishermen of which there are not many left, ours and members of the Hull community unrelenting passion ideas efforts to honour our work place.

GREAT

Dave Smith 09/07/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
my mother lost her farther loch ard her ashes went from st Andrews dock this will be a fitting concept for the people of hull and the 6,000 good men lost from our port love to see this happen and become a reality.

GOOD

Ted Doherty 08/07/2015
The Last Trip Concept
Love it, this is all about what we from Hessle Road deserve, the X fishing community deserve this, the lost deserve this.hope we can get the funding you can put me down to help in any way i can,give us a bell Ray. Love it,regards Ted

GREAT

Christine Green 08/07/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
What a wonderful tribute to all of the fishermen of Hull and there families , It is a fitting memorial to the heritage of St Andrews Dock and the people of Hull, let's hope it happens HBHG, thanks to you all for your hard work in making this a vision for the future.

GREAT

Karen & Peter Rusling 29/06/2015
Castle Street Bridge
Wow this looks amazing but with one very major caveat, we have a son in a wheelchair, what provision is there for him?

GREAT

Phil Mason 28/06/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
This is exactly what we need and have needed for too long! Wonderful vision and a fantastic reminder of how and who built this brilliant City. It would be a fitting testament to all those brave Hullensiens who risked and sadly died to provide for so many. How and why can other major cities and ports deliver their own iconic developments to reflect their proud history and we cannot? Good luck to the team in their efforts to promote and produce this exciting project - lets make it happen! You have my support all the way. Best wishes.

GREAT

Phil Mason 28/06/2015
Tide and Time
What a fantastic design. We lack great concepts in this City of ours but this is excellent. Lets get this City moving forwards with brilliant ideas like this!

GREAT

Michael Swain 28/06/2015
The Last Trip Concept
Having lost my brother Maurice in the triple trawler disaster 1968, I have given my time voluntary to the fishermen's mission, and I was the project co ordinator of Hull's Fishermen's Memorial books housed in the Maritime Museum, listing the thousands of fishermen lost from this city. I can honestly say it does take a huge commitment to succeed, sadly the poor state of St Andrews dock as it looks now disrespects the fishermen who lost there lives bringing fish to the nations table. Mr Levison and Mr Fenton my hope is that you succeed.

GREAT

Glen Rollinson 28/06/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
Great vision, but it needs to get started, visitors to Hull shouldn't have to be greeted with a derelict waste ground when driving down Clive Sullivan way, something that still reminds you that Hull was a major port to Europe along with something new is what we need, too much talk and plans, lets see some action.

GREAT

Mason And Annette Redfearn 27/06/2015
The Last Trip Concept
Judging from the latest news in the Hull Daily Mail dated June 19 2015, titled : - 'Plans to kick-start facelift of derelict waterfront site', there is now more likelihood of this project reaching a successful conclusion. We listened to the Radio Humberside, David Burns Morning Show on the same day, and as a result, we feel that Mr Levison and Mr Fenton are committed to doing a great job on St. Andrew's Dock, and at the same time appropriately PRESERVING Hull's Fishing Heritage. Furthermore, the memorial to the lost trawlermen , 'The Last Trip' is to be the lead feature of the development. So at long last, we have good reason to be optimistic.

GREAT

Jessica 22/06/2015
The Last Trip Concept
Fantastic idea, why has this not happened already! I hope more people are aware of this to support the idea! The place looks derelict at the moment and needs attention.

GREAT

Geoff Hewitt 20/06/2015
Castle Street Bridge
We definitely need a good looking pedestrian bridge to connect the marina, Humber Street and the quayside to the city centre. This has to be a priority project to be completed before 2017.

BAD

Mike Dixon 20/06/2015
The Last Trip Concept
Great news , one thing I would love to see in there would be the Artic Corsair, Viola, and the spurn light ship. If it's done right it could be amazing , the first thing people will see as they enter Hull,

GREAT

Barry Fleetwood 19/06/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
Extremely uplifting. It speaks if vision and will - something we should have seen years ago, but if it comes off it will be truly inspiring. I wish all those behind it my best wishes.

GREAT

Peter Smith 19/06/2015
The Last Trip Concept
if this was to happen I as an ex fisherman would be one happy man, if it were to be on or near the Bullnose ,and to have water back in the dock it would make a lot of people happy

GREAT

Geoff Hewitt 19/06/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
This is a brilliant idea. Let's hope that people see the enormous value of the scheme in helping to revitalise Hull. How can I help?

GREAT

Gary Farr 19/06/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
Finally someone with a great idea I hope it gets approval well done Just what hull needs

GREAT

Jackie Wright 13/06/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
This is just what Hull needs. It will bring visitors and money into the town and will celebrate its history. I can see it being a great resource for schools and local history groups too. Please not another drab retails park; the city is overloaded with shops and many areas are struggling to survive. If Liverpool and Bristol can do it -why can't Hull!

GOOD

Ian Davidson 21/05/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
Something needs to be done! Walked along the riverside path to Hull from the Humber Bridge for the first time and was amazed by both the potential and the dereliction. Coming across what I now know to be bullnose I was really moved by the flowers etc and that it was obviously a site people visited. This really needs to be recognised. I then walked probably the worst footpaths I've ever been on in many years of walking to get into the city. It was full of litter, between chain link fences, really harsh. I used to work in the building with a gang of ex-trawlermen from Hessle Road in the 1980s so always felt an association with the area, and now find myself spending time round here. It was all they talked about, that and being at sea. They took me out on the town in Hessle Road more than once in the 1980s. Don't remember much!

GREAT

Karl Humphrey 17/05/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
Great concept. We need to promote Hull and tidying up the view for visitors from the A63 has got to happen. The concept is a great idea and maintains that important link to our heritage and could provide employment too. I myself have a personal interest as I sailed out of St Andrews dock with my father for two trips in the St Leger in 1967.

GREAT

Bill Hilton 05/05/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
all my family and relatives went on the trawlers but now all are gone. this would be a fitting memory to all those who are no longer with use but live on in our hearts. The industry has gone, the people have gone but as I young boy in those days the memories remain

GREAT

Walla Longden 28/04/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
I visit the outer bullnose at lease twice a week looking outbound and think deeply of many lost friends and shipmates, then I turn around and look at the shear devastation due to a complete, not only of neglect but also a lack of respect to this once proud fishing industry which the City of Hull was built upon, and also the same lack of respect to all those lost soles who sailed through these lock gates never to return. I then close my eyes and envisage a suitable memorial in their memory. This fantastic concept has opened my eyes to my daydreams of what could and should be not only a fitting memorial but also a lasting legacy of this once proud industry and all those who were involved. Thank you for submitting such a wonderful concept which hopefully can be achieved and to which I fully support

GREAT

Syd Young 25/04/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
Really like the look of this. Something needs to be done with this important piece of our heritage and there has to be a permanent memorial to all those who lost their lives doing what was one of the most demanding jobs ever. The old dock and buildings and Arctic Corsair moored here are essential elements as they are virtually all we have left of this once huge industry. Make it happen!

GREAT

Linda Johnson 25/04/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
Bristol, Liverpool and Gloucester have all capitalised on their sea-faring heritage by developing unused docks into information and entertainment spaces with a mix of museums, cafe/bars and other entertainment offerings. At the moment St Andrews Dock is an eye-sore yet walking along the River Humber from the Bridge down to Victoria Dock and beyond could be a destination, especially as it could connect with the Wolds Way at one end and lead all the way to Spurn at the other.

GREAT

Jo Atkinson 25/04/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
We need this to happen, what a great first impression of Hull this would be, instead of the view from the A63 as it is now.

GREAT

Debi KEABLE 25/04/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
Looks fantastic! Wish the powers that be would get a move on and sort it. I drive past daily and it breaks my heart.

GREAT

Andy Acum 24/04/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
Excellent idea - addresses the issues of regeneration and a fishing memorial. Unfortunately, no mention of how it will be funded.

GREAT

Paul Southwell 24/04/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
fantastic for hull,and for all the fishermen.that lived and work on the trawlers.

GREAT

Phillip Woolhouse 24/04/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
It is just a wonderful concept and it would be such a fantastic sight to see. It really would be a fitting tribute to hull, the industry and the men who gave there lives for it and to it. There would be no need to try and raise a few pounds to build a monument (disgraceful Hull City council you should be ashamed) If only we had a forward thinking council with some real zeal about them it could be done and the money could be found. However I fear as always it will never happen with a labour council such as Hull has. The fishing industry has be confined to the past by them, not interested.

GREAT

John Leonard 24/04/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
Brilliant idea, my father spent a huge amount of time on trawlers both pre & post WW11. He and thousands of other deserve a lasting tribute for the prosperity they brought to the city. The fishing industry died without a whisper in Hull, let's not allow the memory of the men who served on those ships to go the same way.

GREAT

Linda Holden 24/04/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
Fantastic would love to see this a reminder of all those who went to sea and all those who never came back

GREAT

DAVID TAYLOR 24/04/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
wow.....go for it a fantastic concept! I am an ex-Hull Deep Sea Fisherman and was born on Hessle Road! Every blessing! REV. DAVID TAYLOR FOUNDER & CEO/COLOMBIA CHILDCARE & OASIS OF HOPE CHARITY www.cccuk.org www.colombiachildcare.org (USA)

GREAT

Paul Mitchell 24/04/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
great concept, wish it would happen

GREAT

Barry Cunningham 24/04/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
Looks fabulous, get on with it, it's stood as a wreck for long enough

GREAT

Karen Raine 24/04/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
This would be a fantastic way to preserve what is left of the fish dock area breathing life back into it and highlighting the History of this Port .It would also pay respect and tribute to the men who have sailed from the Port of Hull never to return .

GREAT

Carole & Rod Ellis 24/03/2015
Ship to Shore Concept
This idea is a true tribute to the lost trawlermen of Hull. The location on St Andrew's Dock is a fitting place for this eye catching memorial. This would be our choice by far. Carole & Rod Ellis

GREAT

Annette Redfearn 21/03/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
My husband and I think this is excellent. It shows how St. Andrew's derelict Dock could be made into a really wonderful and popular attraction. The people of Hull would be so proud of it!

GOOD

Ted Doherty 20/03/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
Now we are talking and those are the views of Fishermen,can anyone see the difference between what stand want and what fishermen want, as it said in the post before the fishermen was home a max of 60 hrs ( I don't often remember my father being home more than 48 hrs in every three weeks so a trawler and fish dock was there home first sight they wanted to see Bullnose last sight they saw as they left bullnose.Would I ask a fisherman to teach English maths or RI no I would get a Teacher,so why in all that sacred are teachers getting the go ahead by HCC put up statue that fishermen HATE rest my case

GREAT

Annette Redfearn 19/03/2015
Ship to Shore Concept
We are also eager to see the new design, please.

GREAT

Jan 18/03/2015
Ship to Shore Concept
I have heard that there is a new concept for the memorial but the public did not get to see it. Why is this?

GREAT

Ray Coles 18/03/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
The Public should be given the chance to have a say about our Heritage and not to let it rot any longer.

GREAT

Ray 18/03/2015
Ship to Shore Concept
There is a new design by Andrew Fenton why have the Public not seen it ?

GREAT

Annette Redfearn 17/03/2015
Ship to Shore Concept
We are aware that there is another design for a Lost Trawlermen's Memorial and that this has been offered free by Inter-Tech to "Stand". However. this was rejected by "Stand" in favour of the "ITEM" which has featured recently in the Hull Daily Mail and the Yorkshire Times. The latter design has unsurprisingly attracted a great number of adverse comments. So now will you please allow everyone to judge for themselves by showing them your design?

GREAT

Jerry Thompson 17/03/2015
Ship to Shore Concept
another part of the concept that should be a part of our heritage for the fishing community

GREAT

Jerr Thompson 17/03/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
this concept should have been the one for our lost men of our port, what a privilege it would be to have this in place the fishing community should of had a say into this fantastic concept

GREAT

Abi 16/03/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
This is amazing! Would love this to happen!!!

BAD

Peter Coyle 13/03/2015
Ship to Shore Concept
No rating between Poor and OK.... I think this idea is good but would be better presented with the real thing... ie: A Trawler... Then it would be a living interact-able feature that people would appreciate more, maybe the Arctic Corsair?

GREAT

Paul Rusling 13/03/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
This is excellent, why hasn't it been proposed many years ago? It gets my vote, but please make sure there is car parking nearby, easy access for the elderly & disabled, and some decent food and drink, to make sure the idea flies. Good luck with it.

GOOD

Tony Hagger 13/03/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
Would like to see a visitor centre dedicated to the fishing industry as part of this concept.

GREAT

Jean Jensen 13/03/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
The ideas are great. Primarily it is the retention, restoration and preservation of the Lord Line building and the Dock itself that is key to the development site. It is this building that lends a historical importance to Hulls fishing heritage. The use of the building is not indicated or referenced in the text. I would like to see a respectful use of the building. One which pays homage to the working men and seamen of this city. Really not sure about the Interfaith freedom peace centre-do not understand this concept for the bull nose building. The other buildings could be seen anywhere else in the uk. But the LL building is unique to this town. Moorings/berths for old trawlers, ships that have connection with the city would make this development a viable modern venue that draws visitors to the area. Make Hull proud!

GREAT

Bob Brewer 11/03/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
As a committee member of the Action for Hull Group on Facebook, if this proposal gets the go-ahead then that will be fantastic news for Hull. We as a group have been campaigning for a while now for the preservation and restoration of the Lord Line building and this proposal would more than satisfy that campaign.

GREAT

Marilyn Leeson-Kay 05/03/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
This would be fantastic for Hull, if only it comes to fruition. I really, really hope so as this is area is so desperate for rejuvenation and a little bit of TLC.

GREAT

Julie Bonifacino 05/03/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
When will the work begin? This is absolutely wonderful. A true and fitting memorial for our fishermen and their families. It needs to be completed sooner rather than later.

GREAT

Linda Powdrell 27/02/2015
Heritage Dock Concept
It would look great. Hope it happens! My father and all fishermen lost at sea deserve something special for feeding the people of hull and risking there lives.

GREAT

Mick 03/02/2015
Ship to Shore Concept
The best design I've seen , hope it comes off

GREAT

Mrs Stephens 11/01/2015
Ship to Shore Concept
The designer has captured our heritage in the most imaginative way - thank you. I am from a fishing family and extremely proud of my roots and want to see that our heritage leaves a legacy for all to see for centuries to come.

GOOD

Mick Lindstrom 08/12/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
It would be great if the Hull City Council and a developer get together and provide a scheme on these lines to make use of the Dock area which was once the main lifeline of this city

GREAT

Ken Dayes 24/11/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
I served my apprenticeship on the dock, at a company called Boyd Line, which at one period was part of the Lord Line Group. The concept is absolutely outstanding I think you guys have captured the past and enhanced the future with such sincerity, and aspiration. I only wish we could all make it happen. Well Done Regards Ken Dayes

GREAT

Brian 24/11/2014
Ship to Shore Concept
100% better than any other design A very fitting memorial

BAD

Steven Foster 03/11/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
I believe this would be the perfect solution for the lost souls,their families,and freinds and hessle road and hull, but it wont happen will it ?

GREAT

Billy Worrall 02/11/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
i would love to see it in my lifetime. but if not, it would be there for generations to come. so the history of the trawling industry will never die.

GREAT

Gill Andrews 01/11/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
What a superb idea to develop this important site. It's a shame it has been left for so long and anything that will get the fantastic Lord Line Building saved is worth my vote. The fishing industry has so much for Hull to be proud of and this would be a very worthy homage to that. The concept and recognition that we do not need yet another retail site shows long term thinking and understanding. Please get this completed before 2017 and do our city proud. Great and thank you

GREAT

Julie Bentley 01/11/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
Hull really needs something like this. What a fantastic idea. The Deep is a very popular place for people to visit, so we need to tap in on the interest in the area. At the moment that particular area is completely underused and an eyesore. I think we need a different entrance and exit road which inter connects with At Andrews shopping centre, the present road structure gets very congested. Go for it and good luck.

GREAT

Ian Clarkson 01/11/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
How much would this improve the gateway into hull..it is a shame when entering our city at the moment there is so much waste land either side of the A63

GREAT

Christine Henderson-Begg 01/11/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
Would be wonderful to see a living museum on St Andrews Dock - telling the history and also looking forward. I think it could also include a pthr sculpture ehich was never built of the woman and children looking out to see. This would be a wonderful addition to Hull's riverside

GREAT

Derek Wade 01/11/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
Looks fantastic: how would it link up to other tourist destinations in Hull? wouldn't want it to sit in isolation. Recently visited Halifax (Nova Scotia) similar theme on their waterfront. Look forward to seeing this progress:

GREAT

Lynne Mclane 31/10/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
Bring the docks to life can only be a good thing, but something should be built to remember the times gone by. Never forget the original Hull docks were many men lost their lives working in this dangerous occupation.

GREAT

Sue 31/10/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
Back this 100%. Brilliant

GREAT

Howard Wilson 31/10/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
This looks great, lets make it happen.

GREAT

Andrew Laud 31/10/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
It looks excellent it would look great as you head into hull

GOOD

Rajeshwari 30/09/2014
Children's Orthopaedic
We did some research to try and dremnstoate that the sport of motocross is safe if not safer then traditional stick and ball sports. To do that we needed to find variable that would allow us to compare all sports. We used total contact/exposure time per event. In the sport of Motocross an individual athlete can total upwards of 3hrs total contact/exposure or riding time per event (practice 15min x 2 race 20-30min x 6 races. Baseball on the other hand averages 14 minutes contact/exposure for the entire team for one game. Football was 10min per athlete per game. We were able to dremnstoate that the sport of motocross is safe if not safer then other sports when you consider there are less injuries per exposure time then other sports.

GREAT

Lesley McNicol 17/09/2014
2013 The People's Gallery
Brought back so many memories! It would be good if it could be made a permanent exhibition in a pop-up vacant shop. If it also had a link/opportunity for people to donate to the site their own old photos of people/places of Hull or add commando tonal comments on line. Agree if it was online (apologies if it already is) it would be fantastic for out of towners.

GREAT

Ray Wallis 13/09/2014
Optomen TV Crime Reduction Project
Brilliant! Should be a permanent exhibition.

GOOD

Wendy 11/09/2014
Remembrance Garden
It doesn't look very green for a garden and I don't see the point in the big silver balls. I'm sure sculptures that are more relevant to the subject could be commissioned. Apart from that, the concept of a remembrance garden is great and the photo banners and information boards look good.

GREAT

Wendy 11/09/2014
Ship to Shore Concept
It would be great to see this project come to fruition.

GREAT

Wendy 11/09/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
I think the new plan to open up the dock again looks fantastic :) I would maybe suggest more greenery and commissioned artwork / sculpture. The "Reflection Garden" doesn't look much like a garden on the map. And the whole place looks a bit sterile with all that flat grey concrete. Also, I think it would be nice to incorporate cycle lanes and parking areas for easy access by cyclists; encouraging people to keep fit and leave the car at home. I moved back down Hessle Road a couple of years ago and know what the dock means to people in this area. I last went for a look last week and almost anything would be an improvement on how it is now. I think the banners showing photos of the fisherman are a nice touch. And I agree a heritage centre and updating the memorial is essential. It's so sad to see the tiny memorial where families still leave flowers. I can't imagine having to watch the place fall down around me as I went to do that. It must be heartbreaking. Let's get this project off the ground!

GOOD

Phil Clark 10/09/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
It's possibly too late already given the state of what is left, but I've always felt that some of the old buildings around the dock could have been preserved in the same manner as the Black Country museum, only with a nautical/fishing theme. As the article says, the area was once a self-contained little community with banks and chandlers etc, which always fascinated me. Some suitable preserved buildings together with ships in the docks could make a really unique maritime heritage centre.

GREAT

Donald Dixon 03/09/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
Please make this happen.

GREAT

William Wells 28/08/2014
Ship to Shore Concept
as an ex trawlerman of forty years i think this design is far better than others we have had

GREAT

Michelle 24/08/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
Hull is and always was more than 'fish'. Lives were lost, found and remodelled here. Fashions started, supported and developed here. The port town is always a mix of things. The docks brought money and commerce, through the railways, the warehouses because of the massive amount of shipping potential. Retail is not the be all and end all. You can go anywhere, anytown and buy from the same high street stores. Let's have something different. Heritage Dock could be the window to reveal that not just to those that live in the Town but as a major tourist attraction to those outside it and help those that move into the city understand it. Break the mould, think beyond the short term. Create something that is built upon what was for what may yet be.

GREAT

Stephen Bunby 02/08/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
for all the brave men that risked there lives ,myself included to bring fish to the table best bunch of men I have ever worked with and think they deserve a site like this to keep there memories alive and to teach the youngsters what a tough life it was I hope it comes into fruition

GREAT

STEVE DAM 21/07/2014
Ship to Shore Concept
PEOPLE OF HULL SHOULD NEVER FORGET WHALING THEN FISHING PUT US ON THE MAP I AM A CODHEAD AND PROUD OF IT

GREAT

Mason & Annette Redfearn 19/07/2014
Ship to Shore Concept
This particular plan envisaged by Andrew Fenton has my wholehearted approval. The centre- piece which is the silhouette of a typical sidewinder immediately captures and holds your attention. When I first saw the 'actual model' it immediately brought to mind the sadness I felt at the time of the triple trawler disaster, and all the other occasions later when trawlers and men (some of whom I had personally known) were lost. The site where the memorial will be positioned has ample room for a walkway and benches for relatives who choose to visit and meditate on the loss of their loved ones. It will serve many other useful purposes too. I believe that a locally based company such as InterTech deserves to be given preference over others further afield. We must never forget the thousands of Hull trawlermen who lost their lives at sea and who were responsible for bringing considerable prosperity to this city. It is imperative now that we forget our differences and unite to show the respect due to these brave men. It can be done, and should be done, without further delay.

GREAT

Adrian Sadler 19/07/2014
Ship to Shore Concept
This looks a fitting tribute to the lost industry of Hull, and the trawler men, who gave their lives to contribute to this industry, which was sadly sacrificed due to political shinanacins.

GREAT

Emma Harris 10/06/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
This looks so good and more appealing than it does now why not turn the old factory's into fishing museums a place more modern than the museums in town it makes more sense to have it there near the shores which once had men and young boys fishing there a good feel of what it was like as my husbands grandfather was a fisherman and his family pay tribute to him and some other family members at bulls nose it is a special place for the fishing family's it's a great idea to revamp this area it shouldn't be left to rot and crumble as this was once our hertigde and peoples life's where built around here I hope this goes ahead

GREAT

Andrew Hibbert 10/06/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
This is the best option I've seen for the dock, it's incredibly over due.

GREAT

Tony Metcalfe 27/05/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
Brilliant concept needs doing now its been left for to long.

GREAT

Steve Payne 27/05/2014
Memorial
It is a shame to see what is left of the citys fishing heritage slowly rotting away. The Hull Councilmshould apply for government and European grants to help turn this into a reality. It would also be a pleasant place for the people of the city to vist.

OK

Asm Ali 20/03/2014
Optomen TV Crime Reduction Project
We would like to know the tel no email and the address for systems supplier we are all interested to get the systems

GREAT

Andrew Elton 18/02/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
I regularly walk through this location on the riverside path. It beggars belief that such a prominent location has been allowed to descend into such a pitiful state of repair. This plan would not only compliment the retail park and restaurants nearby , it would compliment and energise the entire city. Please do it.

GREAT

Roland Featherstone 06/01/2014
Heritage Dock Concept
This prime site has been crying out for development for years . Just do it !

GREAT

Phill Groizard 27/12/2013
Heritage Dock Concept
Lets get started !!!

GREAT

M Clark 23/12/2013
Heritage Dock Concept
just do it all my family went to sea the bartles and robsons I went down dock with my granddad on horse and cart with the fishermens kit it is respect for hulls fishing industry and fleets and MEN

GREAT

John Drake 08/12/2013
Heritage Dock Concept
get this project in motion now

GREAT

Kevin G 04/12/2013
Heritage Dock Concept
This is a great concept and vision and wish it could be realised . I cannot see where the funding would come from. The buildings around are falling into a very poor condition and look like they'll get a lot worse yet . But as a concept absolutely wonderful and what a great site as you drove into the city .

GREAT

Dave Mckee 03/12/2013
Heritage Dock Concept
I feel that we missed out, GY had the best idea and it worked we are to slow on the uptake now we have an I sore of a dock estate .I worked on the fish dock from 1959 to 1974 started as a barrow lad and ended up as a buyer, life was hard but I enjoyed it lots of long hours in the cold

GREAT

Keith Gordon 24/11/2013
Heritage Dock Concept
I do hope and wish this could happen, my dad was chief engineer and spent his whole life on the trawlers. I in turn served an electrical apprenticeship, wit Hellyer/British United trawlers, quality the like will not be seen again. Unfortunately with the demise of the fishing industry due to politics, if this concept were to happen it would give Hull back the identity it has lost. This country will always eat fish and the concept would be a reminder

GREAT

Richard 16/09/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
My family lived on the Hessle Road and were all employed in the fishing industry from the early 1900 at sea and on the dry side. One thing about the caption of photos of tubs/kettles of fish everyone I knew called them kits and would contain about 10 stone of fish. The concept looks very good however,funds must be available to maintain the area.

GREAT

Roger Spencer 15/09/2013
2013 The People's Gallery
As a local visitor "of a certain vintage", it was an absolute pleasure to see the exhibition on Saturday 14 September. Hull is much criticised for many failings, but when a successful event like this is held, I feel it should be praised, which I am happy to do. I noted that the exhibition displays are mostly portable, and it would be my hope that it will pop up elsewhere in the future for the benefit of all who may visit it.

GREAT

Mike Covell 14/09/2013
2013 The People's Gallery
The People's Gallery was an excellent display, well thought out, and easy to walk around. I do feel that it could have been an ideal opportunity to sell copies of the Hull Daily Mail and various editions of Flashback. Maybe next year a talk on the history of Hull newspapers and how they started and developed and used Whitefriargate as a Hull based Fleet-street.

GREAT

George Woollons 12/09/2013
2013 The People's Gallery
What a pity these photographs are not shown on line for the people who live abroad.

BAD

Mike 11/09/2013
Castle Street Bridge
Where is the disabled access for the bridge. All I see is escalators,and you wouldn't get a wheelchair up them. Hasn't been thought out properly has it?

GREAT

Chris Jordan 11/09/2013
2013 The People's Gallery
I really, really like the concept. In 1979 I started work at the offices in Brekkes and just caught the tail end of the fishing industry in Hull. It is so sad to see what has become of all of the old magnificent buildings and the current state of St Andrews dock. This concept will surely revitalize the area and breath life back into an area that was once full of life and is now so dead and derelict. I particularly like the idea of putting water back into the docks so that boats and ships can use it. I really hope this concept goes ahead.

GOOD

Jackie Collins 11/08/2013
Castle Street Bridge
the main tube bit does look great, but I think putting just sofas in the middle is not going to work. if it was integrated into a small café then maybe. but it looks futuristic and cool. it is definitely about time something was done

GREAT

Chris Rowland 08/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
Great to see local people designing things for local people. It's an excellent concept and very suiting to the Hull community. I always prefer to see something designed with heart than something designed for cold hard cash. Well Done

GREAT

David Wassell 06/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
Fantastic design from Intertech, fitting tribute and a local Hull company.

GREAT

Kathleen Leah Shepherd 04/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
My late husband was a fisherman from the age of 14 as were my 2 brothers. They were fishermen for nigh on 40 years. This memorial by STAND does absolutely nothing for me and my 2 brothers. My late husband Harry would have certainly agreed with us. This concept memorial or similar is what we would like. Connect with the fishing community STAND like you should have done before making decisions for us.

GREAT

Debra Cassar 03/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
A fitting tribute.

GREAT

Kirsty Williams 03/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
Amazing just truly Amazing something our future generations will learn from regarding their Heritage they won't be interested in a garden ...Come on STAND this is the biz get this right

GREAT

Steve Shepherd 03/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
There is a silhouette design memorial at the site of Lissett WW2 airfield for the 851 airmen lost from 158 Squadron The memorial has engraved in it all the names of the 851 airmen lost. The trawler silhouette could have similar with the names of all the trawlermen lost from Hull.

GREAT

Gemma Giles 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
My great grandad my grandad my Dad my uncles and cousins all Hull trawlermen. A fitting tribute to a breed of men we will never see the likes of again.

GREAT

Anj Norrie 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
Very moving tribute...

GREAT

Raymond Johnson 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
This is brilliant I am an ex trawler skipper I think the whole of hull would love this

GREAT

Tony Calvert. 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
The design of of the trawlers in the background looks good to me various lighting effects will enhance the memorial to a lost generation .

GREAT

MIchelle Coldham 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
Very fitting & moving. I would love to see this for our fathers & Grandfathers.

GREAT

Brian Kent 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
I am an x trawler skipper . I lost my uncle Freddy scholars off the Stella Polaris in 1954 leaving behind six children and wife.in allmost the same year my granddad died at sea aboard the ST Onslow the crew brought his body back in the fish room he played the accordion which went missing when the vessel returned to hull.so sad no goodbyes or farewells or kisses

GREAT

Lois 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
I think this stunning design has real presence and evokes emotion. Even those who have no connection to the fishing industry can't help but be moved by the trawler and what it stands for. This is by far the most fitting. The meaning is not lost in the "art" like the one STAND has put forward. My grandad was a fisherman and i think this design reflects how proud and brave these men were.

GREAT

Tina Nielsen 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
A fitting tribute!!

GREAT

Mr PeterBurrows EX Trawler Mate 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
what a fantastic thought to remember the lost fishermen of Hull The walk were people can have an insight of what the Hull fishermen went through to supply fish for the UK. and the continent lives were lost and many loved ones where left .

GREAT

Gill Moore 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
This memorial says it all nothing to add its great,

GREAT

Ian Beale 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
As an exfisherman this is excellent well done

GREAT

Iris Cooper 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
Very moving concept with images and wording that gets to the heart of those who will always remember and those who will be remembered.

GREAT

Ken And Christine Williams 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
I. Lost three of my brothers at sea Two from the Boston Lincoln 1974. And one on St Dominic. 1976. Killed on the deck ...our family has been fishing out of Hull from the. beginning We do not want a park all that's needed is a fitting tribute to our Trawlermen

GREAT

Geoff Barker 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
At long last a true memorial to all the men who sailed from St.Andrew's Dock, many did not return. R I P

GREAT

Brian Kent 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
As an x trawler skipper I want to thank all the people who has done this wonderful tribute to all our lost ship mates I really do mean that ?My granddad died at sea aboard the ST Onslow in 1954 I ten lost my uncle Freddy scholars from the Stella Polaris thank you all

GREAT

Brian Kent 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
It is about time this was done I think it is the best thing that could happen the images are great I lost an uncle at sea also my granddad died at sea .aboard the ST onslow .I am an x trawler skipper out of Hull and Aberdeen .My uncle was Freddy

GREAT

Sandra Webster-Allen 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
I'm not from a fishing family, although have lived in Hull all my life, but think this concept is brilliant and think it is a fitting tribute to all those men that risked their lives and those who lost their lives in treacherous waters in order that this great city of ours and cities around Great Britain always had supplies of fish.

GREAT

Peter Smith 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
this concept symbolizes a true meaning for myself as an ex trawlerman,also the many people who have lost love ones

GREAT

Terry Kent (ex Fisherman) 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
This looks the business, lot better than the ones we have seen ,at least you can see its a trawler and not a sharp pointy thing that has nothing to do with trawlers

GREAT

Ray Coles 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
This is what the ex Fishermen and their families want

GREAT

Tina Ives 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
This is a simple design which I think depicts the simple lifestyle and evokes memories of days gone by, quite a poetic thing really especially with the backdrop

GREAT

Peter Green 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
God Bless Them All Fitting Monument to all those Fishermen that never returned R.I.P. Lad's ,

GREAT

Karen Raine 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
Fantastic design that truly represents what the people of hull want i am proud to say i am married to a ex trawler man and am shocked and disappointed in the city council of hull that has allowed everthing to disappear without a trace lord line should have been made into a museum along with all the other derelict buildings aworking museum would keep all that history alive i hope the lads get this fantastic design up and running soon good on you xx

GREAT

Christina 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
I come from a fishing family my dad went to sea all his life... it would be wonderful if this memorial could become a reality. Alot of brave and good men have been lost over the years, and i think this would be a fitting tribute. Imagine the impact this would have silhouetted against the waterfront during the day...fantastic. I personally think this one is far superior to the one being planned by S.T.A.N.D. Alot of people, can't connect with the abstract design they have chosen.

GREAT

Terry Bishop 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
this is far more illustrative than the one chosen, I can relate to it, it does those men proud that gave their lives.

GREAT

Peter Raine 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
this is a fantastic design and would be great to have it

GREAT

Kevin Thomson 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
this is a fitting for all fishermen whosailed out of hull

GREAT

Gill Railton 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
Very impressed with this concept, a proper fisherman's memorial that each family who lost someone can relate too and remember with pride.

GREAT

Jan Bonser 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
Please......those who have the ultimate choice......follow the direction the Public want and more importantly The Men and their Families who were directly involved. The silhouettes of the Family waving goodbye are so touching xxx

GREAT

Andrea Howland 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
I love the idea of the trawler welded to the quay side very impressive ! Is this also going to include a list of crew members on a plaque or podium x at last something apt to celebrate the lives of those taken by the sea !and a striking memorial beautiful !!!!

GREAT

JOHN JONES 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
AVERY FITTING MEMORIAL TO OUR LOST BROTHERS

GREAT

Colin Burrows 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
if this was placed nearer to the inner bull nose it would be fantastic,whoever came up with this idea deserves recognition

GREAT

Donna Shepherd 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
I think that not just one trawler to be named as men lost their lives in other trawlers, either none named or all.

GREAT

Donna Shepherd 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
I think that not just one trawler to be named as men lost their lives in other trawlers, either none named or all.

GREAT

David Smith 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
this is a better reflection of what is needed as a memorial to the fishermen that did not come home .a lasting idea much better than a garden .

GOOD

Chris Weymer 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
Great design..but lends itself to graffiti...how about letting family members put their own thoughts on it...then sealing it with something that doesn't allow any extra 'thoughts' to be added

GREAT

Michael Swain 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
Very good . I lost my brother on the Ross Cleveland the third ship after St Romanus , Kingston Peridot.

GREAT

John Jackson 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
this is far superior to any other proposed memorial i have seen lets have it something to actually take the family down to look at and be proud of

GREAT

Alan Dean 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
a monument fitting to all the fishermen lost at sea

GREAT

Brian Calvert 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
This would be a fitting monument to all those fishermen that never returned and there where many R.I.P Lads

GREAT

Steve Shepherd 02/08/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
Very impressive and far outweighs the winner recently chosen by STAND. l can connect with this memorial.

GREAT

Leanne 29/07/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
What a lovely idea, will give people more of a reason to visit the dock other than to buy their sofas and gardening furniture!

GREAT

Coleen (Campbell) Whur 29/07/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
Coming from a Hull fishing family, the memorial will make an excellent and fitting tribute to the many men who lost their lives at sea. I stood on the dockside along with mum, on many occasions, waiting for dad's ship to come alongside for me to be lifted aboard.

GREAT

Stephen Todd 28/07/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
Best design we have seen for this memorial, having done a trip on Falstaff round Iceland in the late 60's taking photographs for a college project I feel that this sums up the life of Hull's fishing Heritage well.

GREAT

Darren Fisher 26/07/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
A great concept, It paints a picture of local families waiting for their loved ones to come home safely. This needs to happen.

GREAT

Sam 26/07/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
As a designer and a person living in Hull I feel this concept is a perfect concept for a memorial. The ship has so much symbolism and holds a lot of emotion... the rusty iron shape... the ideas behind it are so much more appropriate to the fisherman, Hull and culturally as a whole. Abstract impressionist sculptures and shapes do nothing for the fisherman an their families. This concept is my choice by far,

GREAT

RS Leeman 24/07/2013
Ship to Shore Concept
Fantastic idea and concept about time we dressed our river shoreline up , great for young and old !!

GREAT

Benjamin Okyere 27/06/2013
The Sponsor Fun Scrum
fab!!

GREAT

Yasmine Droullos 27/06/2013
The Sponsor Fun Scrum
brilliant stuff!!!

GREAT

Alison Droullos 27/06/2013
The Sponsor Fun Scrum
brilliant idea cant wait to see myself in this team!!!!

GOOD

Linzie 21/06/2013
Hull Identity
Will be an assett to the city of hull

GREAT

Jordan M 20/06/2013
Eco Centre
This is a great idea, Hull needs more Eco! We only have approximately four in the city.

GOOD

Jordan M 20/06/2013
Hull Identity
It's a good idea but their are a number of people who still will not understand the concept of this project through lack of knowledge and understanding.

GOOD

Tracey Kingdom 09/06/2013
Castle Street Bridge
I think it is essential to link the City centre with the marina. There are not many places you will visit that do not have a focus around a bustling marina. Hull has a beautiful marina which needs opening up to more businesses/markets, pavement restaurants/bars etc and needs to be advertised and promoted as a fantastic place to be. The linked walkway is a must.

GREAT

Paul Scott 22/05/2013
Humber Bridge
It would be good if they made some changes tp the bridge. It's such a famous icon, that it would be nice to spruce it up.

GREAT

Ernest Brown n/a
Angling Area
What a brillant idea for young people. People are always complaining about the youth of today. But no one comes up with any ideas, to resolve the problem.

GREAT

Gill n/a
Memorial
What a lovely idea. A beautiful place for people to go to remember the lost and celebrate the past.

GREAT

Samantha Noons n/a
Tide and Time
I think this is a brilliant idea. As well as it been an attraction for local people to come and see. It can also be used as an educational tool. Innovative design Inter Tech.

GREAT

Brian Bird n/a
Tide and Time
I think its a brilliant idea, futuristic and very eye catching. I am an 70 odd year old fisherman and would love to see this combined with more young peoples ideas . I would dearly love to see more about the unsung heroines of Hull such as the wives of all the seafarers of our city. Theres was the toughest job of all.

GREAT

Gill n/a
Tide and Time
I think this is a great idea, the only thing I would suggest is adding an information board in front that shows how it works so that people can learn while the see something wonderful.

GREAT

John Percival n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
Fabulous idea, I have been saying this myself for years but did not know anyone was actually working on it. I had wrote to Alic Gill about this vey subject. My father was a trawlerman in the 50\'s and 60\'s, he described it as the hardest job in the world, and now in his 80\'s he still dreams of being at sea on a trawler. I was often on the dock as a child, and have returned several times as an adult to look at the derilict condition that was once so alive. Hull should be proud of its fishing heritage, these men helped feed a nation and make it great. They lived and died in ships, in seas far away from Hull. For good or bad Hull was a fishing town, and the dock would be a wonderfull place for a museum and heritage centre. The old Marr building should be restored, the last side winder trawler languishing in the River Hull brought into the dock, where it belongs, and other vessels too. What about one of the old Humber paddle wheelers, a light ship, and who knows what else. this is a great idea, and it must, not should, happen. I live abroad now, returning each year to my homeland. I am a proud Yorkshireman, born in Beverley, growing up in Brough, Son of a trawlerman. I fully support this.

OK

Speaker n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
Docks old buildings are falling into bits they should be demolished and rebuilt!!!!.

GREAT

Mark n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
I think this is a superb project that would bring back to life one of the most interesting areas of Hull\'s heritage. I think the video projects the scheme brilliantly and provides a great insight into how the area could be improved. Considering it’s a virtual creation, the footage captures the old and new perfectly and is very touching. Additionally, as the area forms a main visual entrance way to Hull, it would play a significant part in generating that all important first impression for people coming to the city. Let’s face it, the area is currently an eyesore at the moment, isn\'t it? Although, I\'m always a little dubious without seeing the costs and some understanding of what reliance there would be on the public purse to support the scheme. Anyway, don’t let this hint of negativity take anything away from a fantastic vision of what can be done to this historic part of the city. I’ll have one please!

GREAT

William Wells n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
I am a retired fisherman and think this is an exellent idea, the arctic corsair could be back where it should be,and a good place for the fishermens memorial.

GOOD

James Henry Jessop n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
I am a 65 year old trawlerman from Hull and for the past 10 years I\'ve been cruising the Arctic deep sea fishing grounds with my grandsons around Spitzbergen, Norway,Iceland,Greenland and Newfoundland. In these areas where trawlers have been lost, we pay tribute to the trawlermen who perished. All the Arctic ports have memorials to the hard lives of the trawlermen. It\'s about time Hull had its own memorial along the lines of the St.Andrew\'s Dock theme. This would be for the dock workers, the people and the trawlermen past and present who sacrificed so much for the town\'s fishing heritage. The only problem I foresee is opposition to the remembrance site due to it detracting from other regional tourist sites.

GOOD

Tina n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
I think the plans hcc have are great,ive been tracing my dad and his family who where all from hull.he worked long and hard on the trawlers i think he whould be very inpressed with what is going on now,but we should not forget all those men who never came home.

OK

John Killingbeck n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
What you have overlooked is that this dock has become a facinating natural area. We already have a marina and more than one retail park in Hull. How much more original it would be to retain this as a city centre nature reserve (in contrast to the manicured stricture of Queens gardens Queens Gardens) with the surroundings developed in a more vernacular relaxed style as a refuge from the bustle of the city.

GOOD

Laura n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
I have visited some of the heritage docks around the country (Portsmouth and Hartlepool) and this is the sort of visitor attraction that we need in Hull. It could perhaps display the Arctic Corsair and a Humber paddle steamer and would give this special place the countrywide acclaim that it deserves. My Great Grandad used to work on the ships that sailed out of this dock and people like him and the work they did should be remembered and commemorated.

GREAT

Tony Roberts n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
What can i say this plan is outstanding, if the Hull City Council want to improve our city and heritage then this is a fantastic way forward,what it needs is everyone in the City of Hull to start a petition to lobby the powers that be to get their heads out of the sand.

GOOD

Graham C. Marshall n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
Something like this has been needed for a long time. The concept is superb but there are a few hidden dangers in as much that so many changes are made to please everyone that you end up with a tacky theme park and not a living, breathing memorial.

Having a berth set aside for visiting vessels of interest is a good one but I\'m not convinced that \'Moby Dick\' fits in anywhere but a theme park. We\'ll see.

With more than a nod to my first paragraph perhaps the all important railway connection should be incorporated into the design. Rather than just have a brief glimpse of a fish train on a video lay a stretch of track and put an old locomotive and a rake of fish vans on them. The vans could be used to house displays of various aspects of the dock.

How close to becoming a reality is this?

GREAT

Brian Calvert, Australia n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
Hi on surfing the web I found your website and was surprised but pleased to see an old photo of me as a 16 year old the one of me holding a large cod fish it was taken on the Bardia H302 I think 1951 or 52 many thanks for posting it I now live in South Australia and have done since 1971.

GOOD

Derek, Willerby n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
I like the idea of a heritage dock as I have long thought much more should be made of our marina area and waterfront. I have a few ideas which could easily be incorporated around either the Marina or a regenerated St Andrews Heritage Dock and may compliment your proposals. I’d like to see life size bronze statues placed around the dockside with information boards depicting scenes from our fishing heritage, trawler men, bobbers, filleters, women net braiding etc. My inspiration for this comes from the boat quay in Singapore where they have excellent statues telling the story of the colony through the various merchants and tradesmen going about their business. Dublin also uses a similar idea for its famine memorial. The quality of bronze statue needs to be equal to our existing emigrants statue near the new marina office blocks, which is duplicated on the Albert Dock in Liverpool, another model for what we can aspire to in Hull. We can also use my idea for an opportunity to finally replace the inadequate Mick Ronson tribute in Queens Gardens with a new performance stage on the heritage dock. I propose the famous lyric “sailors fighting in the dance hall” from David Bowie’s song Life On Mars which featured Hull’s own Mick Ronson be used for a themed scene next to a new quayside stage. This scene can combine the story of Hessle Roads returning trawlermen, flush with cash, as the hard living weekend millionaires they were with an often overlooked part a Hull lad played in our rock music heritage. The feature stage will allow live music to really bring the old dock back to life in the summer festival season.

GREAT

June Brown n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
What an excellent idea. This is a welcome design for the city. Instead of entering the city and looking at an eyesore, you could be entering the city looking at modern design. While it also been a memorial to all those lost at Sea. For me this deals with 2 major problems that Hull has a city.

GREAT

Nick, West Hull n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
Love the video , excellent ideas with the memorials to all those lost at sea, but like with most historical places situated in hull seem deemed for the history books because HCC only look for profit and that area would be primed for real estate just like the old fruit market area.

GOOD

MancunianHumbersider, Hedon & Bury n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
The number of negative comments on here provides us with precisely the reason why Hull is stagnating compared with Liverpool, Birmingham, Newcastle et al. Those with any nouse who grow up in Hull generally go elsewhere to cities where their ideas are more likely to be embraced rather than ridiculed.

The fact that we have someone here who lives and works locally and who is prepared to put time, money and effort into an idea that is focused on their own city should be applauded. As Mr. Fenton has said, he has been spurred into action by the inaction of others.

What would people prefer, to allow the remaining talent in Hull to be directed away from the city so that Liverpools and the Birminghams of this world are the beneficiaries (again), or would they not rather someone from Hull brought the ideas to the table so that their talents remain in Hull giving the city exactly the platform that is needed to develop and potentially puts the city in a position where it can realistically compete and be compared with these other great UK Cities?

GREAT

Dean, Hull n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
It looks fantastic! Bring it on.

GOOD

Simon, North Cave n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
What Hull clearly needs to do is invest in education, as it is patent that there is a basic problem with literacy! Where in this article does it say that KUHCC has employed Inter Tech as a consultant? The way that I understand it is that Inter Tech have carried out this work at their own expense, for which I think they should be congratulated. Granted, the scheme may well never come to fruition, but the web site is a great broadside at KUHCC, and show what Hull as a city could achieve if they had a council who had some vision, and who stopped wasting money like it was going out of fashion!!!

GREAT

Robert Medd n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
What a fantastic website. If this could become a reality I am sure it would be a great advert for the city as well as a wonderful memorial for our lost trawlermen. Hull city council would be very foolish not to buy this land, at two mllion pounds it\'s a snip. I would like to congratulate all who put this together, it\'s a marvellous piece of work.

GREAT

B Pearson n/a
Heritage Dock Concept
This it the best idea for this site of this old fish dock it will make a good memorial to all the lost fisherman. All it needs is the Arctic Corsair to be put there to make it complete.